Applied Sciences Recognizes Schoolwide Honors and Awards Winners

Students lauded for academic excellence, service and leadership

The UM School of Applied Sciences produced a record number of 2018 graduates, including dozens of winners of school and university awards. UM photo by Sarah Sapp

OXFORD, Miss. – The School of Applied Sciences at the University of Mississippi recently wrapped awards season for the 2017-18 academic year. The following students were honored for academic achievements, service and leadership:

Communication Sciences and Disorders

Marianne Tillman Scholarship in Speech and Language Pathology Endowment – Rebekah Bosley, of Southaven; and Marianne Rivers Wylot, Prosper, Texas

McRight Biology Scholarship Award – Meliah Grant, Jackson; Destiny Hodges, Baldwyn; Bailey Clare McLemore, Madison; Carolyn Brooke Owens, Brandon; and Emily Claire Reedy, Horn Lake

Patricia Ann Ridgway Endowment Award – Madison Taylor Savoy, Southaven; Leah Margaret Strope, Bolivar; and Peyton Willoughby, Tupelo

Robert Guy Millis Endowment Award – Sydney Gully, Saltillo; Lexy Lindsey Pharr, Golden; and Courtney Walden, Booneville

Tommy and Susan Thames Communicative Disorders Endowment Award – Kathryn Calahan Grisson, Murfreesboro, Tennessee; Jennifer Ann Grove, Forest; Sara Kingsley Tolson, Lynn Haven, Florida; Emma Thome, Peachtree City, Georgia; and Amy Walker, Batesville

Patricia Ann Ridgway/Sue Hale Scholarship – Lacie Preston, Aberdeen

Graduate Achievement Award in Communication Sciences and Disorders – Molly Grace Williams, Corinth

Clinical Speech-Language Pathologist Award – Shelby Elisa Whitsell Edmonds, Holly Springs


Health, Exercise Science and Recreation Management

Robert Blackburn Graduate Award in Exercise Science – Samuel Louis Buckner, Ft. Lauderdale, Florida

Leon Garrett Achievement Award in Health Promotion – Emily Frith, Stanford, Kentucky

Ryan P. Malone Undergraduate Achievement Award in Exercise Science – David Edward Green, Gautier

Graduate Achievement Award in Health and Kinesiology – Scott Dankel, Howell, New Jersey; and Emily Frith, Stanford, Kentucky

Gordon McMurray Graduate Achievement Award in Sport and Recreation Management – Alison Hovatter, Meridianville, Alabama; and Sydney Elizabeth Malone, Tuscumbia, Alabama


Legal Studies

Columbus B. Hopper Scholarship Endowment Award – Natalie Swords, New Albany

Chief Richard Michael Popernik and Joan Grisham Popernik Legal Studies Scholarship Award – Janice Dewitt, Renton, Washington

Robert Langley Memorial Scholarship Award – Adrianna Cheyenne Guin, Guntown

Robert T. Warren Outstanding Criminal Justice Student Award – Jason Hunter Robbins, Shannon

Outstanding Legal Studies Graduate Student Award – Kirby Rhodes, Bay St. Louis

Outstanding Criminal Justice Student Award – Allison Dillon, Belden; Ja’Michael Handy, Water Valley; and Maryana Tyshkivski, Olive Branch

Outstanding Paralegal Student Award – Emma McNair, Brandon; and Hunter Story, Oxford


Nutrition and Hospitality Management

Outstanding Coordinated Program Student in Dietetics – Virginia Ellen Mitchell, Memphis, Tennessee

Outstanding Student in Dietetics and Nutrition Award – Elizabeth Baylee Edwards, Birmingham, Alabama

Outstanding Student in Hospitality Management Award – Mallory Kaitlyn McAlister, Southaven

Outstanding Graduate Student Award in Nutrition and Hospitality Management – Prabhdeep Sandha, Jalandhar, Punjab India

NHM Faculty Award for Student Service – Charles Sheriff, Marietta, Georgia

Sydney E. Pucheu HM Scholarship – Elizabeth Hurdle, Oxford; Nadia Radowick, Munster, Indiana; and Harley Saxton, Water Valley

Ole Miss Hospitality Management Scholarship – Danielle Foster, San Antonio, Texas; and Katherine Grizzel, Lorton, Virginia

Susan Haskins Scholarship – Emma Cousins, Plainfield, Illinois; and Chandler Law, Birmingham, Alabama

Tommy Ramey Scholarship – Caroline Acomb, Pass Christian; Meghan Bullock, Columbia; and Marlee Young, Oxford

Louise Burnett Scholarship – Katelyn Tarr, Pawnee, Illinois

Vasilyev Family Scholarship – Danielle Foster, San Antonio, Texas; and Chandler Law, Birmingham, Alabama


Social Work

Velmer Stanley Burton III Memorial Scholarship – Ericka Barnes, Greenwood Springs

Liz Triplett Walker Scholarship – Austin Conner, Batesville; Alexandra Eben, Olive Branch; and Ashleigh Jones, Oxford

“We are so proud of these students and all they’ve accomplished,” said Teresa Carithers, interim dean of applied sciences. “We commend them and wish them continued success in all of their academic endeavors.”

For more information about the School of Applied Sciences, visit or call 662-915-7900.