Message from the Chair of the 50 years Subcommittee

The Civil Rights subcommittee was appointed and charged by the Chancellor of The University of Mississippi to oversee commemorative campus activities that would inform, educate, and provide deserved recognition and acknowledgement to the historic, meaningful, and significant activities that occurred on October 1, 1962 when Mr. James Meredith became the first African American student to enroll in The University of Mississippi.  The committee has appropriately themed this period of acknowledgement “Opening the Closed Society.”  The year-long celebration will run from September 2011 through October 1, 2012.

Harry Belafonte will serve as the keynote speaker on the evening of October 1 for the official “Opening the Closed Society” program that will honor this important event which forever changed our institution and state.

The committee looks forward to leading the campus remembrance of this significant occasion with events that will provide tributes and acknowledgments to the opening of what was once a closed society.

Charles K. Ross
Chair, Civil Rights

Committee Members:

Charles K. Ross, Chair Civil Rights Movement Sub-Committee, Director of African American Studies Program and Associate Professor of African American Studies and History

Andy Mullins, Co-Chair Civil Rights Movement and Civil War Subcommittees, Chief of Staff to the Chancellor and Associate Professor of Leadership & Counselor Education

Donald Cole, Co-Chair Civil Rights Movement and Civil War Subcommittees, Assistant Provost and Assistant to the Chancellor for Multicultural Affairs and Associate Professor of Mathematics

Patsy R. Brumfield, reporter for the Northeast Mississippi Daily Journal

Amy Wells Dolan, Associate Dean and Associate Professor of Leadership & Counselor Education

Tom Eppes, Chief Communications Officer

Susan M. Glisson, Director William Winter Institute for Racial Reconciliation

Julian Gilner, Assistant Director University of Mississippi Alumni Association

Maurice Hobson, Assistant Professor of African American Studies and History

Michael Hoffheimer, Law School

Jeff Jackson, Associate Professor of Sociology

Taylor McGraw, 2011-2012 President of the Associated Student Body

Jan Murray, Associate Dean College of Liberal Arts and Professor of Art

Ted Ownby, Director of the Center for the Study of Southern Culture and Professor of History

Valeria Ross, Assistant Dean of Students for Multicultural Affairs & Volunteer Services

Christine Wallace, Director of University & Public Events

J. Coulter Ward, Assistant Dean of Students for Student Involvement

Curtis Wilkie, Associate Professor of Journalism

Lauren Wright, 2011- 2012 Vice-President of the Black Student Union