Ole Miss Alumni Association Welcomes 2019-20 Officers

Birmingham banker Matt Lusco elected as president

The 2019-20 Ole Miss Alumni Association officers are (from left) Johnny Maloney, Matt Lusco, Lampkin Butts, Dr. Bob Warner, Candie Simmons and Kirk Purdom. Photo by Allie Bush/Ole Miss Alumni Association

OXFORD, Miss. – The Ole Miss Alumni Association welcomed new elected officers for 2019-20 at its annual meeting Oct. 5 as part of the University of Mississippi‘s Homecoming activities.

Matt Lusco (BBA 79), of Birmingham, Alabama, was named president, a one-year term that changes each Homecoming. Lusco is senior executive vice president and chief risk officer for Regions Financial Corp.

“I am incredibly honored to serve as president of the Ole Miss Alumni Association,” Lusco says. “In this role, you stand on the shoulders of those who have gone before you, and I am humbled by the leadership and contributions of our past presidents.”

Before joining Regions, Lusco was with Arthur Andersen and KPMG and worked in Jackson; Washington, D.C.; New Orleans; Birmingham; and Memphis. During his time at Ole Miss, Lusco was a member of Sigma Chi Fraternity. He is a member of the Vaught Society and serves on the board of directors of the University of Mississippi Foundation and the advisory board of the Patterson School of Accountancy.

Lampkin Butts (BBA 73), of Laurel, president and chief operating officer of Sanderson Farms Inc., was named president-elect. Dr. Bob Warner (BA 79, MD 83), of Jonesboro, Arkansas, a surgeon at Arkansas Methodist Medical Center Surgical Clinic, was elected vice president.

Athletics Committee members include Johnny Maloney (BBA 78), of Madison, and Candie Simmons (BBA 02, MBA 15), of Ridgeland. Maloney is executive vice president for Cowboy Maloney’s Home Store, which has 13 locations in Mississippi. Simmons serves as a senior vice president and geography marketing strategist for Regions Financial Corp. in Jackson.

Kirk Purdom (BA 93), executive director of the Alumni Association, serves as treasurer.