Top Nontraditional Students Join Alpha Sigma Lambda

Nearly 20 DeSoto Center scholars inducted at ceremony

Nearly 20 students were inducted into Alpha Sigma Lambda at the University of Mississippi’s Southaven campus.

Nearly 20 students were inducted into Alpha Sigma Lambda at the University of Mississippi’s regional campus in Southaven.

SOUTHAVEN, Miss. – The University of Mississippi at DeSoto Center chapter of the Alpha Sigma Lambda National Honor Society recently inducted 18 seniors into the organization.

“It is an honor to recognize these outstanding students and welcome them into Alpha Sigma Lambda,” said Rick Gregory, executive director of the regional campus. “They are a great representation of UM-DeSoto’s dedication to excellence in academics.”

Alpha Sigma Lambda was established in the mid-1940s to honor adult students who, while adroitly handling their life responsibilities, achieve and maintain high scholastic standards. The organization has more than 300 chapters nationwide.

Rachel Smith, assistant professor of marketing and local ASL chapter adviser, congratulated the students at the April 19 induction ceremony.

“This celebration is about you – the best and the brightest, the hardest workers, the curve setters, the deep thinkers, the ringers in the classroom,” Smith said. “Universities brag a lot about their faculty, their rankings and even physical facilities, but at the end of the day we are ultimately judged by the quality of our graduates.

“We are only as good as what we produce – and that’s you. You are what matters most at this great university. You are our legacy and our building of a better future.”

A complete list of inductees, as well as their hometowns and majors, is as follows:

  • Cathy Adams, Southaven, Spanish
  • Meshia Brown, Holly Springs, social work
  • Wanda Carney, Hernando, English
  • Dianne Carpenter, Southaven, general studies
  • Kelsey Clark, Hernando, elementary education
  • Rhonda Cook, Holly Springs, general studies
  • Elainna Ferrell, Hernando, general studies
  • Megan Hyland, Randolph, social work
  • Anna Lunati, Memphis, Tennessee, marketing
  • McKinley McCarty, Southaven, paralegal studies
  • Karen Moore, Senatobia, elementary education
  • Jessica Salmon, Hernando, social work
  • Darla Shuford, Olive Branch, general studies
  • Lauren Stephens, Southaven, elementary education
  • Kendria Strowder, Walls, social work
  • Chance Thweatt, Horn Lake, criminal justice
  • Lynda Witherington, Byhalia, general studies
  • Shanika Young, Southaven, elementary education

Housed in the DeSoto Center in Southaven, the DeSoto regional campus offers undergraduate (junior and senior) and graduate programs for traditional and nontraditional students. For more information, visit or call 662-342-4765.