ASHP Leader to Deliver Annual Hartman Lecture

Diane B. Ginsburg

Diane B. Ginsburg

OXFORD, Miss. – Diane B. Ginsburg, immediate past president of the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists, is to deliver the 2012 Charles W. Hartman Memorial Lecture on Friday (April 20) at the University of Mississippi.

Ginsburg plans to discuss “Practice Beyond the White Coat: Staying Focused on What Matters” at 11 a.m. at the Gertrude C. Ford Center for Performing Arts. The lecture, sponsored by the UM School of Pharmacy, is free and open to the public.

“It is an honor to host Diane as our 2012 Hartman Lecturer,” said David D. Allen, dean of the pharmacy school. “She is a longtime friend and mentor who embodies what professionalism should mean to us all. I look forward to her presentation which will offer unique perspectives for students and faculty.”Ginsburg, assistant dean for student affairs at the University of Texas College of Pharmacy, received her bachelor’s degree in pharmacy from the University of Pittsburgh and master’s in hospital pharmacy from the University of Houston. In 1987, she completed a hospital pharmacy administration residency with The Methodist Hospital in Houston.

She is a fellow of ASHP and also has served the organization in a number of roles, including chair of the Council on Educational Affairs, editorial advisory board member of the American Journal of Health-System Pharmacists, Texas delegate 1993-present, co-coordinator and judge of the National Clinical Skills Competition 1997-2004 and member of the foundation board of directors. She is editor-in-chief of ASHP’s PharmPrep and author and editor of ASHP’s Preceptor’s Handbook for Pharmacists.

Ginsburg is vice president of the Research and Education Foundation of the Texas Society of Health-System Pharmacists and has also served the group as president, secretary and chair of the Communication and Public Affairs Councils.

She is the recipient of the TSHP Mentor Award, Pharmacist Recognition Award and Health-System Pharmacist of the Year Award. In 2005, she received the Distinguished Alumna Award from the University of Pittsburgh School of Pharmacy. She is also a past president of the Austin Area Society of Health-System Pharmacists.

The Hartman Lecture was established at UM in 1973 to honor the late Charles W. Hartman, who was dean of the pharmacy school from 1961 until his death in 1970. Former lecturers include U.S. Attorney General Edwin Meese, Food and Drug Administration Commissioner Mark McClellan, U.S. Sens. Thad Cochran and Trent Lott, and Leo Sternbach, who synthesized Valium and Librium.

For more information or assistance related to a disability, contact Dabney Weems at or 662-915-1015. To learn more about pharmacy education and research at UM, visit