Exceptional Students Receive Prestigious Scholarships

Eighteen freshmen awarded generous financial aid packages

OXFORD, Miss. Eighteen incoming freshmen in the Sally McDonnell Barksdale Honors College at the University of Mississippi have been named recipients of some of the university’s most prestigious scholarships.

Funded by gifts from donors, the scholarships provide support for students to study for four years, in some cases including study abroad and other enrichment activities.

“All of our students in the Sally McDonnell Barksdale Honors College boast outstanding records of academic excellence, public service and leadership,” said Ethel Scurlock, Honors College dean. “To earn one of our scholarships, a student must distinguish themselves amongst a highly competitive group of applicants.

“We expect each of our scholarship students to excel in their academic programs, meaningfully engage in our honors community, and to ultimately become leaders in their professions and in the communities where they live.”

The Bill and Melanie Roper Scholarship, established in 2022, supports incoming Honors College students majoring in business, science, technology, engineering or math. This year’s recipients are:

  • Norah Bruce, of Oxford
  • Lily Kruse, of Caseyville, Illinois

The McDonnell-Barksdale Scholarship is named for Jim and Sally McDonnell Barksdale and supports Mississippians entering the Honors College. Recipients are:

  • Chloe Clement, of Water Valley
  • Harsika Dillibabu, of Madison
  • Jillian LaRosa, of Long Beach
  • Kyla Rudd, of Batesville

The Doris Raymond Scholarship honors Doris Raymond, who was the first preceptor of the University Scholars Program in the 1950s. Recipients are:

  • Sean Kloecker, of Saint Charles, Missouri
  • Millie Kate McBride, of Vestavia Hills, Alabama
  • Delaney McNear, of Wheaton, Illinois
  • Sam Nemee, of Stockton, California
  • Evangeline Ryan, of Ocala, Florida
  • Lydia Warner, of Mason, Illinois

The Harold Parker Memorial Scholarship was established by Katherine Parker, an Ole Miss alumna from the class of 1942, in honor of her brother Harold. Recipients are:

  • Ellie Dowdy, of Dexter, Missouri
  • Sydney Stepp, of Loretto, Tennessee
  • Abby Toups, of New Orleans

The Annexstad Family Foundation awards three Leaders for Tomorrow National Scholarships to freshmen entering the Honors College who have exhibited leadership in their communities. Recipients are:

  • Shayne Carson, of Biloxi
  • Kylie Marie Buckley, of Ocean Springs
  • Edward Wilson Jr., of Jackson

To establish an endowed scholarship or give to an honors scholarship fund, contact Brady Bramlett, director of development, at bradyb@olemiss.edu or at 901-870-3499.