Honors College Scholarships Support High-achieving Students

More than $600,000 awarded to freshmen from Mississippi and across the globe

OXFORD, Miss. – The University of Mississippi’s Sally McDonnell Barksdale Honors College awarded more than 20 scholarships for the 2022-23 academic year, continuing a 25-year tradition of supporting top students with new and established scholarship endowments.

“Our scholarships help us recruit top students from all over the world,” said Ethel Scurlock, Honors College dean. “Top-tier students do more than add vibrancy to our community; they are vital in helping us advance our reputation as one of the best honors colleges in the country.

“This year’s incoming class of scholarship recipients is one of the most diverse and intellectually accomplished classes that we have welcomed to the SMBHC.”

More than $600,000 has been awarded this year to entering Honors College freshmen, who hail from Mississippi to Nepal.

“We are thrilled to be able to offer additional scholarships this year,” said John Samonds, associate dean of the Honors College. “All our donors are invested both in the lives of our students and also in the success of the Honors College. We couldn’t be more appreciative.”

The Bill and Melanie Roper Scholarships were awarded for the first time this semester. Each year, the scholarship will be given to two entering freshmen majoring in business, science, technology, engineering or math. The inaugural recipients are Sadie Farmer, of Oxford, and Arden Pierce, of Bay St. Louis.

The Honors College is celebrating its 25th anniversary, which also coincides with 25 years of support from the Barksdale family. The McDonnell-Barksdale Honors Scholarships are awarded to Mississippi residents.

Recipients are Ryan Augustine, of Canton; Anna Buckley, of Jackson; Eron Hendrix, of Tupelo; Neely Kiihnl, of Madison; and Abbey Markley, of Saltillo.

Newly established by Dr. Marc Walker and Dr. Caroline Walker, the Walker Family Scholarship is the first scholarship endowed by an Honors College alumnus. Marc graduated in 2006 with a bachelor’s degree in biological sciences. The first Walker Family Scholarship recipient is Clayton Bryan, of Pass Christian.

The Doris Raymond Scholarships honor Doris Raymond, who was the first preceptor of the University Scholars Program in the 1950s. Raymond Scholarship recipients are Hailey Smith, of Long Beach; Elsie Andre, of Abbeville; Maria Fernanda Argote de la Torre, of San Andres Cholula, Mexico;  Anelle Harris, of Kennett, Missouri; Ishan Pathak, of Kathmandu, Nepal; and Daniel Sloan, of Taylorville, Illinois.

Harold Parker Memorial Scholarships have been awarded for most of the college’s history. The 2022-23 recipients are Benson Le, of Starkville; Hannah Radicia, of Biloxi; and Eliza Grace Ulmer, of Arlington, Virginia.

The Annexstad Family Foundation awards three Leaders for Tomorrow National Scholarships annually to entering Honors College freshmen that have exhibited leadership in their schools or communities. Brady Bass, of Pontotoc; Destiny Kirksey, of Philadelphia, Mississippi; and Manjot Nagra, of Tupelo, are this year’s Leaders for Tomorrow scholarship recipients.

For more information about the Sally McDonnell Barksdale Honors College, visit https://www.honors.olemiss.edu/. To make a gift to Honors College programs or scholarships, visit https://give.olemiss.edu, or for more information, contact Brady Bramlett at bradyb@olemiss.edu or 662-915- 3081.