Lambda Sigma Society Earns National Recognition

Iota Chapter receives prestigious distinction

OXFORD, Miss. – The University of Mississippi chapter of the Lambda Sigma National Honor Society has been named as an Honor Chapter by the organization’s national board.

Lambda Sigma is a sophomore honor society based upon four main ideals: leadership, scholarship, fellowship and service. Among 38 chapters nationwide, the Iota Chapter at Ole Miss received the Honor Chapter distinction “based upon the chapter’s service to the community and the overall functioning of the chapter,” according to a letter from national President John R. Hauser.

Iota Chapter adviser Ryan Upshaw was quick to praise the student members for this prestigious recognition.

“This work is all the students” said Upshaw, assistant dean for student services in the School of Engineering. “It’s really the students’ work in terms of what they are doing in the organization. They’re the ones who should be commended for any awards and recognition.”

Membership in the society is limited to just 50 second-year students who not only excel in the classroom, but who are actively involved in the campus community. New members are initiated in April, as the chapter operates on an academic calendar.

Upshaw and new chapter president Cade Slaughter point out that the award reflects the job of last year’s group of chapter officers.

“Branden Livingston, last year’s president, deserves credit for this distinction,” Slaughter said. “Moving forward, I hope to continue this year of service and fellowship in the same way that last year’s group of Lambda Sigma members at Ole Miss were able to do.”

When it comes to the chapter sustaining this level of success, Upshaw said he isn’t worried. He knows the stellar reputation and commitment to the organizational ideals will keep students interested.

“One of the things I think that makes our chapter really strong is the commitment to service,” he said. “It’s been really outstanding, and I think it’s what helps us stand out.

“We also typically attract students who are leaders on campus, such as ASB President Elam Miller and Black Student Union President Jarvis Benson. It distinguishes Lambda Sigma because people see a lot of leadership potential coming out of the members.”