Pharmacy Faculty Member Elected President-elect of National Pharmacy Society

OXFORD, Miss – Brian L. Crabtree, associate professor of pharmacy practice and clinical associate professor of psychiatry at the University of Mississippi, has been elected by his peers as president-elect of the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy.

He will be installed as president-elect at the organization’s annual meeting in July.

“I have been fortunate to benefit from membership in AACP, contribute in various capacities and watch it grow and develop,” Crabtree said. “AACP is a partner in the success of all of our pharmacy schools and colleges. I am eager and honored at the opportunity to serve as we build on our successes.”

Crabtree_Brian-As president, Crabtree will be responsible for articulating a vision and providing leadership for the organization, chairing the board of directors, appointing and charging standing committees and ad hoc taskforces, representing AACP at various meetings and outreach visits to schools of pharmacy, and reporting to the membership and House of Delegates at the annual meeting. He also aims to support diversity in the profession and academic disciplines.

Crabtree received his bachelor’s and doctoral degrees in pharmacy from Mercer University. A faculty member in the UM School of Pharmacy for more than 25 years, he is board-certified in psychiatric pharmacy and maintains an active clinical practice in psychiatric and developmental disability facilities in Mississippi. His research is focused on outcomes assessment of treatment algorithms and pharmacoeconomic initiatives.

He was the recipient of the 2007 Faculty Service Award and 2000 Faculty Innovations in Teaching Award from the school. In 1989, he received the Hospital Pharmacy Research Award from the Mississippi Society of Health-Systems Pharmacists.

“Dr. Crabtree has for a very long time championed instructional innovations to enhance learning and knowledge retention which will ultimately improve the quality of care that patients receive from our graduates,” said pharmacy Dean Barbara G. Wells. “For the last three years he has also provided capable leadership to the board of directors of the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy, the national association that works to strengthen pharmacy education and to help pharmacy faculty members realize their potential as educators. It is a high honor that he has been elected president-elect of AACP.”

For more information on the School of Pharmacy, go to