Pharmacy Faculty Selected to AACP House of Delegates

David Colby and Noa Valcarcel will represent university at national meetings

David Colby

OXFORD, Miss. – University of Mississippi faculty members David Colby and Noa Valcarcel have been selected to represent the School of Pharmacy in the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy House of Delegates.

Colby, associate professor of medicinal chemistry, will serve during the 2020 AACP annual meeting in Long Beach, California. It will be Colby’s second time to serve as a delegate, and he said he is pleased to again represent the school at the national meeting.

“This opportunity allows me to vote on issues affecting schools and colleges of pharmacy across the United States,” Colby said. “The House of Delegates session includes delegates and deans of all pharmacy schools in the country, and the business they discuss there can deliver a major impact on the future of the profession.”

Noa Valcarcel

Valcarcel, instructional assistant professor of pharmacology, will be an alternate delegate this year before serving as an official delegate to the 2021 conference. Valcarcel said her passion for pharmacy education makes her excited about being involved in setting educational policy for pharmacy schools nationwide.

“Being selected to the AACP House of Delegates is an honor, and I am so grateful to my colleagues for nominating and trusting me to represent them,” Valcarcel said. “For me, representing the Ole Miss pharmacy faculty in AACP is the perfect opportunity to serve both entities.”

The AACP House of Delegates is the association’s democratic policy-setting body. Representatives debate and approve statements of educational policy, approve changes to the bylaws and the strategic plan, act to accept new institutional members and establish dues for all categories of membership.