Pharmacy Students Earn Pharmacists Mutual Scholarships

Alex Gochenauer and Erin Hoevelmann plan to practice pharmacy in community settings

Alex Gochenauer

OXFORD, Miss. – Two University of Mississippi pharmacy students have been named recipients of the exclusive Pharmacists Mutual Community Pharmacy Scholarship.

Alex Gochenauer and Erin Hoevelmann were selected based on their interest in practicing pharmacy in an independent setting, a community setting or in an underserved community. The scholarship is given to just 20 recipients nationwide each year.

“Offering clinical services in the community setting is of particular interest to me, as this gives pharmacists the opportunity to be more involved in providing health care to patients,” Hoevelmann said.

In her second professional year, Hoevelmann has gained insight into community pharmacy through research and volunteering. The St. Louis native recently presented her thesis for the UM Sally McDonnell Barksdale Honors College on pharmacists’ willingness to offer rapid diagnostic testing as a research poster at the American Pharmacists Association annual meeting.

Hoevelmann also is active in the community through service projects with the pharmacy student group Prescription for Service and nonprofit organization More than a Meal.

Third-year student Gochenauer hopes to one day work in an independent compounding pharmacy that focuses on veterinary pharmacy practice.

Erin Hoevelmann

Originally from Republic, Missouri, Gochenauer has served in leadership roles in the student chapters of the American College of Veterinary Pharmacists and National Community Pharmacists Association. She also recently earned scholarships from NCPA and American College of Apothecaries.

“During my first year in pharmacy school, we had an assembly from the Professional Compounding Centers of America, which prompted my interest in compounding and led to my taking compounding courses,” Gochenauer said.

David D. Allen, dean of the School of Pharmacy, said the school is “very proud” of Hoevelmann and Gochenauer.

“Erin and Alex are two of our consistently high-performing and service-minded student pharmacists,” Allen said. “They demonstrate the drive to learn and the compassion for patients that every great pharmacist possesses.”