Missouri Vice Provost for Research to Deliver Waller Lecture Oct. 29

Ashim K. Mitra

Ashim K. Mitra

Miss. – Distinguished researcher Ashim K. Mitra presents the annual Coy
W. Waller Distinguished Lecture at 11 a.m. Wednesday (Oct. 29) at the
University of Mississippi’s Gertrude Ford Center for Performing Arts.
The title of his presentation is “Novel Molecular Strategies to Improve
Therapy in Drug Resistant Patients.”

Mitra is vice provost for
interdisciplinary research, University of Missouri Curators’ Professor
of Pharmacy and chairman of the Division of Pharmaceutical Sciences at
the University of Missouri-Kansas City. Sponsored by the UM School of
Pharmacy, the lecture is free and open to the public.

“Dr. Mitra is a distinguished researcher whose discoveries in the areas of ocular, nasal and pulmonary drug delivery have significantly improved the health of citizens worldwide,” said UM pharmacy Dean Barbara G. Wells. “Additionally, through his research, leadership and mentorship, he has helped numerous young scientists realize their potential. This is evident by one of our own Ole Miss faculty, Dr. Soumyajit (Jit) Majumdar, who joined the school in 2005 after receiving his Ph.D. under the
guidance of Dr. Mitra.”

Mitra serves on the Gene and Drug Delivery Study Section at the National Institutes of Health. A Fellow of the American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists, he served as the chair of the AAPS Nasal Drug Delivery Focus Group and is chair of the AAPS Ocular Drug Disposition and Delivery Focus Group. He is the 1999 recipient of the University of Missouri Trustee’s Faculty Research Award and 1992 recipient of the National Collegiate Inventor of the Year Award from the National Invention Center and the B.F. Goodrich Corporation.

Mitra received his bachelor’s degree in pharmacy and master’s degree in pharmaceutics from Jadavpur University in India, and his master’s and doctoral degrees in pharmaceutical chemistry from the University of Kansas.
The Coy W. Waller Distinguished Lecture series was established in 2004 to recognize Waller’s contributions to his discipline and to the pharmacy school. Each year the lecture is hosted by a department within the school, and lecturers are selected for their contributions to the host department’s discipline. The 2008 lecture is hosted by the Department of Pharmaceutics.

For more information or assistance related to a disability, call 662-915-7431.

Learn more about pharmacy education and research at UM.