Seven Receive UM Outstanding EEO Awards

Employees recognized for excellence in service categories

Kathy Tidwell (right), contractual services manager and director of university licensing, receives a standing ovation during annual Staff Appreciation Awards on Friday. Tidwell, who has worked at UM for 49 years, is recognized by Johnny Price (left) Staff Council president. Photo by Thomas Graning/Ole Miss Communications

A custodial worker in the Facilities Management Department is the University of Mississippi’s 2018 Overall Outstanding Staff Member.

Nettie Tyson of Oxford, who has been employed at the university since 2010, was recognized during the annual Staff Appreciation Awards program Friday (May 18) in the Gertrude C. Ford Center for the Performing Arts. She will receive a $1,000 stipend and two season tickets to Ole Miss football games.

“The people in this room know more than anyone else the depth and breadth of what we do here at the University of Mississippi,” said Noel Wilkin, provost and executive vice chancellor for academic affairs who presented all the EEO Service Awards. “Each one of you plays an amazing role in making our university the wonderful place that it is.”

Six other employees were presented Service Awards, including a $500 stipend, in their respective EEO categories. Winners included Laura D. Brown, director of the Office of Financial Aid, for EEO1; Joseph Baumbaugh, systems analyst III in the Office of Alumni Affairs, for EEO 3; Kathy McCluskey, senior human resources assistant, for EEO 4; Lynn Reece, distance learning coordinator at the Desoto regional campus, for EEO 5; Hunter Snow, power line specialist III, for EEO 6; and Michael Lewis, trucking worker in the Facilities Management Department, for EEO 7.

The Office of Student Disability Services was honored with the Dan Jones Award for Team Service.

Long-standing employees were presented either a certificate, lapel pin, plaque or keepsake in recognition of each person’s 5, 10, 15, 20, 25, 30 and 30-plus years of service to the institution.

Staff in the Office of Student Disability Services accept the third annual Daniel W. Jones, M.D. Outstanding Team Service Award during the UM Staff Appreciation Awards program. Photo by Thomas Graning/Ole Miss Communications

“The outstanding staff awards were created in 1990 as a way to honor staff members for their contributions to the university,” said Johnny Price, classroom technology specialist and outgoing president of the UM Staff Council. “The person with the most votes in their respective EEO category is recognized at our awards day ceremony.”

Chancellor Jeffrey Vitter was unable to attend, but filmed a video, which played during the ceremony.

“It’s the people of Ole Miss – all of you at today’s ceremony – that make it great,” Vitter said. “You’re outstanding people with a rich diversity of talents and backgrounds. As my Chief of Staff Sue Keiser describes, ‘Staff keep this place running like a spinning top, for themselves and all others.'”

Congratulations to all this year’s winners!