Student Pharmacists Selected to Prestigious Practice Rotations

Fourth-year students set for stints with national and international organizations

Kayla Bourgeois

OXFORD, Miss. – Sixteen students in the University of Mississippi School of Pharmacy will travel across the country and around the world to participate in competitive Advanced Pharmacy Practice Experiences that will enhance their pharmacy practice skills.

APPEs are part of the School of Pharmacy‘s curriculum. All fourth-year student pharmacists must complete 10 four-week rotations at various pharmacy practice sites. Working with pharmacy preceptors at each location, students gain knowledge, skills and practice experience.

William Gust

One of the more competitive APPE rotations is the American Pharmacists Association Experiential Program in Association Management and Leadership in Washington, D.C. Four Ole Miss student pharmacists were selected for this rotation: Kayla Bourgeois, of Gonzales, Louisiana; William Gust, of Collierville, Tennessee; Anna Touchstone, of Smithdale; and Yujing Zhang, of Oxford.

“This was definitely a record year for APhA rotations and for national rotations overall,” said Laurie Fleming, the pharmacy school’s director of experiential programs and experiential affairs. “We are thrilled about this unique opportunity for our students to learn about operations within a prestigious national pharmacy association.”

Anna Touchstone

Ole Miss pharmacy students will complete APPEs at four other national organizations as well. Gust was also selected for a rotation at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Kailey Denny, of Buncombe, Illinois, was accepted at the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists. Henry Harris, of Olive Branch, will travel to Bristol-Myers Squibb, while Emily Gravlee, of Prattville, Alabama, will participate in a rotation at Pharmacy Quality Alliance.

Eleven student pharmacists will travel abroad for rotations. Peru Medical Mission Experience selections include Bourgeois; Madison Gray, of Lena; Brooke Long, of Philadelphia, Mississippi; Sarah Medeiros, of Madison, Alabama; and Wendy Zheng, of Meridian.

Yujing Zhang

The Australia Community Elective Experience recipients include Gust; Hayley Davis, of Santa Maria, California; Victoria Goodman, of Byram; Victoria Miller, of Danville, Alabama; Taylor Montague, of Gautier; and Jamie Stone, of Hot Springs, Arkansas.

“Our student pharmacists’ acceptance to these national and international rotation sites is a tremendous accomplishment,” said David D. Allen, dean of the School of Pharmacy. “It speaks volumes about the hard work and dedication they’ve put forth in and out of the classroom, and we’re thrilled that they will have these unique experiences.”