UM Pharmacy Dean Named 2012 Outstanding Pharmaceutical Sciences Alumnus at Kentucky

David D. Allen. UM photo by Robert Jordan.

David D. Allen. UM photo by Robert Jordan.

OXFORD, Miss. – David D. Allen, dean of the University of Mississippi’s School of Pharmacy, has been selected as the 2012 University of Kentucky Outstanding Graduate Program Alumnus for the Pharmaceutical Sciences.

Allen, who received both his bachelor’s and Ph.D. from the UK College of Pharmacy, will be honored at the college’s annual Symposium on Drug Discovery and Development, set for Sept. 20.

“The UK College of Pharmacy has meant a great deal to me throughout my entire life,” Allen said. “Being recognized by a place that has provided me the tools to pursue a career in academic pharmacy and research is both humbling and gratifying. This is a special honor.”The award is presented as part of the college’s annual Symposium on Drug Discovery and Development. Allen will have an opportunity to provide a presentation to students, faculty and staff within the college as part of the program. Established in 2006, the goal of the award is to honor graduates of the program in recognition of their accomplishments and contributions to scholarship, education and research in the pharmaceutical sciences.

“I’ve always admired David Allen’s commitment to academic pharmacy and dedication to his alma mater,” said Patrick McNamara, interim dean for the UK College of Pharmacy. “We look forward to having him back on campus to honor him and learn more about the steps he has taken to establish himself as one of the nation’s leaders in academic pharmacy.”

Allen received his bachelor’s degree in pharmacy at the University of Kentucky and practiced community pharmacy for several years before returning to the college to earn his doctorate in pharmaceutical sciences. He has been licensed to practice pharmacy in five states and has been a visiting scientist in Chile, France and Switzerland, as well as at the Laboratory of Neurosciences’ Neurochemistry and Brain Transport Section of the National Institutes of Health’s National Institute of Aging, where he also was an Intramural Research Training Award Fellow.

Besides serving as UM pharmacy dean, Allen is a professor of pharmacology and executive director and research professor of the university’s Research Institute of Pharmaceutical Sciences.

Before coming to Ole Miss, he was the founding dean of pharmacy and professor of pharmaceutical sciences at the Northeast Ohio Medical University College of Pharmacy (formerly Northeastern Ohio Universities College of Pharmacy) in Rootstown, Ohio, and associate dean of curricular affairs at the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center School of Pharmacy in Amarillo, Texas. He also served as professor of physiology and pharmacology in NEOMED’s College of Medicine while pharmacy dean.

He has served as principal investigator or collaborator on more than 30 research projects funded by the NIH, American Heart Association, American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy, the government of Chile and pharmaceutical companies.

Allen is the author of 73 peer-reviewed articles and 41 professional publications, and he has contributed to four books. He also is on the editorial boards of the journals Pharmacology Weekly and Drug Development and Industrial Pharmacy. He previously served on the editorial boards of the American Journal of Pharmaceutical Education and Life Sciences.

The recipient of dozens of leadership, teaching, research and practice awards, Allen was designated a fellow of the American Pharmacists Association in 2011 and the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists in 2004. He is a member of the American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists, the Society for Neuroscience and the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy’s Council of Deans, for which he chaired the Cost of Experiential Task Force. He also chaired AACP’s Biological Sciences Section and Student Services Special Interest Group.