UM Pharmacy Faculty Elected as State Organization Officers

Ole Miss professors hold all four executive positions

The UM School of Pharmacy. Photo by Robert Jordan/Ole Miss Communications

OXFORD, Miss. – The University of Mississippi School of Pharmacy is well-represented within the Mississippi College of Clinical Pharmacy, as four UM faculty members have been elected as officers of the state chapter of American College of Clinical Pharmacy.

Seena Haines, Katie Barber, Jamie Wagner and Melissa Reilly, all with faculty appointments in the school’s Department of Pharmacy Practice, will serve as MCCP officers during 2018.

Haines, chair of the pharmacy practice department, is the organization’s president. Barber, assistant professor, is president-elect, while Wagner and Reilly, both clinical assistant professors, were named treasurer and secretary, respectively.

“I hope to provide members of MCCP an association home where they can network with colleagues and draw upon similar interests to help advance clinical practice in our state,” Haines said. “Our programming efforts will target our students, residents and the diverse practice experiences of our members.”

In an effort to fulfill ACCP’s and MCCP’s joint mission of promoting patient care that optimizes medication therapy and promotes health, wellness and disease prevention, Haines hopes to provide MCCP members with timely and relevant content that can support their work with patients and diverse learners.

“It’s an exciting time to be leading this organization,” Haines said. “We will be examining the evolving health care needs of the citizens of Mississippi and direct patient-care opportunities through comprehensive, cost effective and high-quality care.”

“The School of Pharmacy is fortunate to benefit from the expertise of these committed faculty members, and I know they will serve MCCP well,” said David D. Allen, Ole Miss pharmacy dean. “They are improving health care in our state from a multifaceted and experienced point of view.”