West-Strum Honored for Commitment to Pharmacy Quality

Chair of pharmacy administration receives Duncan Neuhauser Award

Donna West-Strum

Donna West-Strum

OXFORD, Miss. – A University of Mississippi department chair and professor in the School of Pharmacy has been recognized for her efforts to improve pharmacy practice through medication safety and quality.

Donna West-Strum, pharmacy administration chair and professor, helped create the Educating Pharmacists in Quality program, which was selected as the 2015 Duncan Neuhauser Award winner by the Academy for Healthcare Improvement. The EPIQ program is used as a tool to improve the teaching of pharmacists, pharmacy students and other health care providers regarding measuring, reporting and improving pharmacy practice.

West-Strum created the novel training program in partnership with the Pharmacy Quality Alliance and several colleagues from across the nation.

“We are honored to receive this prestigious award,” West-Strum said. “It is nice to be recognized for our passion and dedication to improving pharmacy quality.”

West-Strum was presented the award alongside EPIQ co-authors Terri Warholak of the University of Arizona, Vibhuti Arya of St. John’s University College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences, Ana Hincapie of the University of Cincinnati and David Holdford of Virginia Commonwealth University at AHI’s annual meeting Oct. 29.

“This award solidifies Dr. West-Strum’s reputation as a national expert in the area of quality and medication safety,” said John Bentley, professor of pharmacy administration. “It is a significant acknowledgment of her efforts on a national scale.”

The five modules in EPIQ and 26 online sessions serve as a resource for professional development and continuing education. The program has been downloaded more than 63,000 times since its launch in August 2014.

“My colleagues and I are grateful for PQA’s support and the adoption of this educational tool by so many faculty across the country,” West-Strum said. “This tool provides access to important material for learning about pharmacy quality measurement and improvement. Hopefully, pharmacists and pharmacy students are being empowered to improve the quality of pharmacy care.”

Samuel Stolpe, PQA senior director of quality strategies and business development, applauds the team members for their efforts in developing EPIQ.

“We are extremely pleased that the Pharmacy Quality Alliance EPIQ program has been selected to receive this award,” Stolpe said in a recent press release about the award. “The EPIQ program is increasingly recognized by pharmacist practitioners and educators as a valuable tool that can be adapted for a variety of audiences.”