Interim Associate Provost Wilkin Named Fellow in Pharmacists Association

noel-wilkin.jpgOXFORD, Miss. – Noel E. Wilkin, interim associate provost
and associate professor of pharmacy administration at the
University of Mississippi, has been named a Fellow of the
American Pharmacists Association.

The designation is reserved for members of either the APhA
Academy of Pharmacy Practice and Management or the APhA
Academy of Pharmaceutical Research and Science who have at
least 10 years of professional experience and who
demonstrate exemplary service and professional

“Dr. Wilkin’s contributions within his discipline have
served to improve the quality of care delivered to
patients, improve cost-effective therapy and advance
entrepreneurship in pharmacy,” said Barbara G. Wells, dean
of the School of Pharmacy. “He is a selfless servant leader
who derives great satisfaction from helping others be
successful. He is exquisitely deserving of this high

Wilkin is the third pharmacy school faculty member to hold
this distinction in the Academy of Pharmaceutical Research
and Science. He joins Walter G. Chambliss, professor of
pharmaceutics and the university’s director of technology
management, and Mickey C. Smith, F.A.P. Barnard
Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Pharmacy

In January, Wilkin was named interim associate provost and
is charged with assisting with the university’s efforts in
strategic planning, enrollment and academic affairs. He
previously served as chair of the Department of Pharmacy
Administration and director of the Center for
Pharmaceutical Marketing and Management.

He received the pharmacy school’s Pharmaceutical Science
Teaching Award in 2004, 2006 and 2007. He also serves on
several university, community and pharmacy school
committees. In 2004, he was chosen as a member of the
inaugural class of the Academic Leadership Fellows Program
with the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy.

For more information on the School of Pharmacy, visit