Ole Miss Women’s Council Welcomes Freshman Scholars

Fourteen incoming students provided with scholarships, mentoring and networking opportunities

The 2019-20 Ole Miss Women’s Council for Philanthropy freshman class scholars are (front, from left) Mary Lathan Pittman, Samantha Turner, Emelia O’Neill, Gray Duperier and Ansley Brown; (second row, from left) Amyaha Graham, Shelby Sledge, Casiah Watson, Shelby Phillips, Mary Patton Murphy, Hailey Ellis and Jodyn Wyms; and (back row, from left) Brody McCammon and Bradley Brantley. Photo by Bill Dabney/UM Foundation

OXFORD, Miss. – The Ole Miss Women’s Council for Philanthropy has welcomed an outstanding group of young students to campus as its 2019-20 freshman class scholars at the University of Mississippi.

This year’s incoming scholars are: Bradley Brantley, Mary Patton Murphy and Casiah Watson, all of Jackson; Ansley Brown, of Johns Creek, Georgia; Gray Duperier, of Oxford; Hailey Ellis, of Olive Branch; Amyaha Graham, of Clarksdale; Brody McCammon, of New Albany; Emelia O’Neill, of Smithton, Illinois; Shelby Phillips, of Hattiesburg; Mary Lathan Pittman, of Batesville; Shelby Sledge, of Amory; Samantha Turner, of Starkville; and Jodyn Wyms, of Tupelo.

The OMWC is an innovative program at the university that provides scholarships and counsel for exceptional students. Helmed by an accomplished cadre of female leaders and philanthropists, the council provides scholarships for tuition and books for young men and women, as well as guidance and training in leadership skills, career development and personal growth throughout the students’ tenure at the university.

Scholars are guided by career mentors and sitting members of the OMWC and participate in leadership training, mentoring, community service projects, cultural enrichment activities and alumni networking.

For more information about the OMWC, go to https://omwc.olemiss.edu/ or contact Suzanne Helveston at 662-915-2956 or shelveston@olemiss.edu.